Spirit of Independence Award

The Spirit of Independence Award is the highest individual honor in the indoor environment profession, bestowed occasionally on a individual who has had a profound impact on the success of the professional contracting industry.

These individuals are the industry’s legends, each of whom has left a mark on our entire community through service, innovation and personal commitment.

The Spirit of Independence Award is presented to an individual; company names are included for identification purposes only.

ACCA Spirit of Independence Award Winners


Jack Rise
Jack Rise HVAC Technical Training Tampa, FL


Phil Forner
Allendale Heating & Cooling, Allendale, MI
 2017 Laura DiFilippo
DiFilippo's Service, Paoli, PA


Warren Lupson
Silver Spring, MD
2013 John Sedine
Engineered Heating & Cooling
2012 Stan Johnson
Stan's Heating & Air Conditioning
2008 Hank Rutkowski
HTR Engineering
2006 Skip Snyder
The Snyder Company
2003 Jeff Forker
Penton Media
2002 Larry Taylor
Air Rite Air Conditioning
2001 Aaron York, Sr.,
Aaron York's Quality Heating & AC
2000 James P Norris
GroupMAC Corp
1999 Dan Thayer
Thayer Corporation
1998 Dick Shaw
Ferris State University
1997 Walter M. "Pete" Reckinger III
Reckinger Heating & Cooling
1996 Maury Jacobson
Florida Heating & AC
1995 Dr. Emol Fails
Management Institute
1994 Doc Rusk
Rusk Heating & AC
1993 Norman Edelman
Super Service
1992 Wallace Lee
Lee Company
1991 Cliff McCourt
Day & Night Heating & Cooling
1987 James P. McDermott
Contracting Business
1984 Charles E. Wright
1983 Dave Gleason
Burns Heating & Cooling Supply
1982 Bob Ritchie
1981 Al Keats
Metro Detroit ACCA